Robinhood Crypto Trading Available in 17 States

Robinhood, the brokerage firm known for its free equity trades, has added more U.S. states to its lineup of who can trade cryptocurrencies on a commission-free basis.

Previously, Robinhood offered free trading on bitcoin and ethereum in select states, but the firm is expanding that lineup to include bitcoin cash and litecoin.

“Robinhood Crypto has been steadily adding states where the service is available. Currently investors can buy and sell the four coins in 17 states, including California, New Jersey, Florida and Massachusetts, with more states becoming available in the future,” reports CNN Money.

Robinhood offers commission-free stock trading through an app it launched about three years ago. It caters to the millenial population and has seen a surge since adding the trade of crypto to it’s app.

U.S. States Where Robinhood is Permitted

Bitcoin is the largest digital currency by market capitalization. Ethereum, bitcoin cash and litecoin are three of the next five largest cryptos after bitcoin.

“We’re working hard to make Robinhood Crypto available to everyone, and it’s currently available in 17 states: AZ, CA, CO, FL, IN, MA, MI, MS, MO, MT, NJ, NM, PA, TX, UT, VA, and WI. We also plan to further expand our coin offerings and add support for coin transfers,” according to a statement from Robinhood. “In the meantime, everyone on Robinhood can monitor market data, read cryptocurrency news, and create price alerts for 16 coins: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Bitcoin Cash, Ripple, Ethereum Classic, Zcash, Monero, Dash, Stellar, Qtum, Bitcoin Gold, OmiseGo, NEO, Lisk, and Dogecoin.”